What is Southern Cuisine?

HostDave
Site Admin

What is Southern Cuisine?

Postby HostDave » Mon Jan 14, 2013 5:04 pm

By Timothy Rubacky, Senior Vice President

I love food. All the hours I spend on the treadmill at the gym trying to work off the calories are a testament to the level of my passion for food. I’ll admit that I didn’t have a huge amount of exposure to Southern food until I moved to Memphis, TN. And I’ll also admit that despite many conversations with acclaimed Southern chef Regina Charboneau, who has overseen our menu development and execution and shared with us not only her family recipes but also created special dishes just for the American Queen, I’m no expert. I have a better idea of what composes a true Southern menu but also have discovered that the word “Southern” is a blanket term covering half the country.

What I enjoy so much about my country is that America is regional. Each area, indeed each town, has its own unique history, its own unique viewpoint of the world, its own unique attractions and even its own take on cuisine. America is a melting pot of people from all over the world and that has influenced our cuisine as well. In fact, there is no such thing as Southern cuisine. It’s not really an American invention; it’s the amalgamation of the foods and culture of many nations and peoples re-interpreted using local ingredients. Of course, over hundreds of years the lines have blurred but I still find it fascinating to understand that what we call Southern cuisine today was influenced by the foods enjoyed by Germans, French, Irish, Spanish, English, Scottish, Native Americans and African Americans.